# South Dakota Synod, ELCA Synod Council Zoom Meeting December 14, 2021

Members Present: Bishop Constanze Hagmaier, Dennis Thompson, Terry Johnson, the Rev. Jonathan Vehar, Pam Seefeldt, Bonnie Lange, Kelly Nelson, the Rev. Tera Kossow, Jeff Clark, Rhonda Hansen, Jim Iverson, the Rev. Jackie Braun, Anne McFarland, Val Parsley, Bonny Hansen, Malcom Chapman, the Rev. John Paulson, Truman Stoller, the Rev. Dave Lund, Tom Stotz, Michael Miller, the Rev. Layne Nelson, the Rev. Jim Fowler

Staff: The Rev. Renee Splichal Larson, the Rev. Jonathan Steiner, Lois Borchardt, Kathy McHenry

Call to Order

Dennis Thompson called the meeting to order.

Land Acknowledgment.

Pastor Jonathan Steiner read the Land Acknowledgment of the South Dakota Synod.

Resignation of Terry Zell

MSC to accept the resignation of Terry Zell as a representative of the Prairie Rivers Conference.

SC.2021.12.1

Appointment of Jeff Clark

MSC to seat Jeff Clark from the Prairie Rivers Conference to the unexpired term on Synod Council.

SC.2021.12.2

Bishop Hagmaier led an opening prayer

### **Approve the Agenda**

The agenda was available in Google Drive.

MSC to adopt the agenda. SC.2021.12.3

## **Treasurer's Report**

The synod mission support and expenses are at about 83% of the annual budget and within the historical trend. Thanks to congregations for continuing to support the ministry of the South Dakota Synod. The synod endowment is also performing well and within national trends.

# Bishop's Report

The Bishop chaired the first meeting of the ELCA Conference Of Bishops Rural Ministry Network. The network is helping to open conversations between leaders across synods to strategize rural ministry. They are making outreach to seminaries and other partners to be collaborative in these efforts.

# Outlaw Ranch request for a Letter of Support

Matt Rusch, the director for Outlaw Ranch, asked for a letter of support from the Synod Council for new camp ministry opportunities. More clarification was needed about the request, and the Bishop will follow up.

### **Associate to the Bishop Reports**

Pastor Splichal Larson

There are lots of interviews happening, and 2021 may see close to 30 congregations having voted to call a new rostered leader. This is historically high but reflects the lack of transition in 2020.

#### **Pastor Steiner**

First Lutheran African Ministry – Change in immigration status for Abraham Gayetaye led to changing employment status. Peace Lutheran has become the fiscal agent instead of the churchwide offices. The last gift from the South Dakota Synod was for \$5,000 in October. More funds will be available from the synod and churchwide in the 2022 fiscal year. FLAM needs to develop a plan for the ministry to be sustainable and nurture partnership ministries.

#### Old Business

The incorporation charge for the South Dakota Synod from Minnesota to South Dakota is still a work in progress.

Interfaith Day in Pierre is January 13, 2022

### **Roster Matters**

Inform Only:

The Rev. Sara Feld – Transferred to Northwest Synod of WI effective 11/01/2021

The Rev. Rebel Hurd – Transferred to Northwestern MN Synod effective 11/15/2021

The Rev. Mark Galbraith – Transferred into SD from Upper Susquehanna Synod effective 11/24/2021

The Rev. Alyssa Mitchell – Transferred into SD from La Crosse Area Synod effective 11/28/2021

The Bishop brought the following recommendations for the council's consideration based on the requests of Rostered Leaders:

MSC to grant the Rev. Jonathan Hallenbeck Ask a one-year renewal of Family On-Leave-from-Call first granted 7/13/2020.

### SC.2021.12.4

MSC to extend a Letter of Call to the Rev. Alan Blankenfeld as the Rural Ministry Liaison for SD Synod, ELCA effective 1/16/2022. SC.2021.12.5

MSC to grant retirement roster status to the Rev. Young Chung effective 1/01/2022. SC.2021.12.6

MSC to extend to the Rev. Mark Eliason a one-year renewal of On-Leave-from-Call first granted 12/29/2020. SC.2021.12.7

The Rev. Renee Splichal Larson present the request from the Rev. Dirk Hagmaier.

MSC to extend to the Rev. Dirk Hagmaier a one-year renewal of Family On-Leave-from-Call first granted 3/18/2021.

SC.2021.12.8

MSC to grant retirement roster status to Deacon Jodi Hanson effective 2/01/2022. SC.2021.12.9

MSC to extend a Letter of Call to the Rev. Lisa Heffernan as Campus Pastor for USD Luther Center, Vermillion, effective 2/01/2022. SC.2021.12.10

MSC to recommend the Conference of Bishops grant the Rev. Elizabeth Johnson a One-Year Extension of Family On-Leave-from-Call first granted 9/01/2016. SC.2021.12.11

MSC to recommend the Conference of Bishops grant the Rev. Jonathan Splichal Larson a One-Year Extension of On-Leave-from-Call first granted 10/07/2019. SC.2021.12.12

MSC to grant the Rev. Katherine Olson a one-year renewal of Family On-Leave-from-Call effective 11/15/2020. SC.2021.12.13

MSC to grant the Rev. Kari Sansgaard a one-year renewal of On-Leave-from-Call effective 2/01/2021.

SC.2021.12.14

MSC to grant Deacon Laurel Vogl a one-year renewal of Family On-Leave-from-Call first granted 12/06/2020.

SC.2021.12.15

MSC to grant the Rev. Herb Wounded Head a one-year renewal of On-Leave-from-Call first granted 9/01/2020.

SC.2021.12.16

MSC to issue a Letter of Call to Deacon Randy Youngquist-Thurow as Associate Director for Lutheran Outdoors of South Dakota effective 1/02/2022. SC.2021.12.17

# **Future Meetings**

- A. Executive Committee: January 14, 2022, 3:00 pm central
- B. Executive Committee: February 15, 2022, 2:00 pm central
- C. Executive Committee: March 17, 2022, 6:00 pm central, Sioux Falls
- D. Synod Council: March 18, 2022, 8:30 am central, Sioux Falls
- E. Synod Assembly: June 3-4, 2022: Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Sioux Falls
- F. Executive Committee: August 18, 2022, 6:00 pm central, Sioux Falls
- G. Synod Council Retreat: August 19-20, 2022, Sioux Falls
- H. Farm to Table Dinner: August 20, 2022, Beaver Valley Lutheran
- I. Executive Committee: October 21, 2022, tbd
- J. Synod Council: October 22, 2022, tbd,

## **Closing Prayer**

The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Rev. Jonathan Vehar, secretary

Jaratha Veh