Resolution #: 1 Recommendation: Do Pass Action Taken:

Subject: 2020 Compensation and Guidelines for Rostered Ministers and Lay Staff Source: Committee for Support to Ministries and its Compensation Task Force

**RESOLVED**, that the "2020 Compensation and Guidelines for Rostered Ministers and Lay Staff," prepared by a task force for the Committee for Support to Ministries and recommended by the committee for adoption, be adopted as the policy of the South Dakota Synod by the 2019 South Dakota Synod Assembly.

Resolution #: 2 Recommendation: Do Pass Action Taken:

**Subject:** Elect South Dakota Synod Council Members

**Source:** Resolutions Committee

**RESOLVED**, that the South Dakota Synod, ELCA elect the following conference nominees to the South Dakota Synod Council for a term of four years:

Prairie Coteau Conference (Lay)
Prairie Coteau Conference (Lay)
Michael Miller, Summit
Pam Seefeldt, Clark
Medary Conference (Lay)
Jim Iverson, Madison

Southeastern Conference (Clergy) Rev. Jim Fowler, Vermillion

Northern Plains Conference (Lay) Stan Jung, Warner

Bear Butte Conference (Clergy) Rev. Tera Kossow, Bison

Resolution #: 3
Recommendation: Do Pass
Action Taken:

Subject: Election of the Board of Directors of Lutheran Social Services of South Dakota Source: South Dakota Synod Council

**Whereas**, Lutheran Social Services of South Dakota is an affiliated social ministry organization of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, and;

**Whereas**, Lutheran Social Services' articles of incorporation provide that LSS shall be governed by a board of directors with majority representation from the South Dakota Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

**Whereas**, there is a discrepancy between the current language of the SD Synod by-laws and the current practice outlined in LSS by-laws that has been in practice since 2006.

**Be it Resolved**, to amend S9.01.11 of the bylaws of the South Dakota Synod by striking:

This Synod shall elect persons to serve on the Board of Directors of Lutheran Social Services of South Dakota as follows: each conference elect one layperson, the SD Synod Assembly elect two laypersons and four rostered ministers.

And inserting:

The Synod Council shall elect three rostered ministers to serve on the Board of Directors of Lutheran Social Services of South Dakota.

Resolution #: 4 Recommendation: Do Pass Action Taken:

Subject: Elect LSS Board Members Source: South Dakota Synod Council

**RESOLVED**, that the following rostered ministers be elect to the Board of Lutheran Social Services of South Dakota to serve as designed terms:

the Rev. Becky Piper, Rapid City, Bear Butte; 1st term, ending 12-31-20; the Rev. Craig Wexler, Pierre, Northern Plains; 1st term, ending 12-31-21; the Rev. Nick Collins, Sioux Falls, Crossroads; 2nd term, ending 12-31-22.

Resolution #: 5
Recommendation: Do Pass
Action Taken:

**Subject: Honor the Ministry of Bishop David Zellmer** 

**Source: South Dakota Synod Council** 

**WHEREAS**, Bishop David Zellmer has completed two terms and faithfully served as Bishop of the South Dakota Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America since 2007; and

**WHEREAS**, while serving as Bishop of the South Dakota Synod, he has faithfully provided pastoral care and leadership for this synod, its congregations, its rostered ministers, and lay members, both in times of challenge and in times of celebration; and

**WHEREAS**, he has exercised leadership for this synod by seeking God's vision for mission in the midst of changing culture and demographics; and

WHEREAS, he has lead the synod and congregations in strengthening our mutual ministry with our companion synod partners in Cameroon and Nicaragua; and

**WHEREAS**, the people and congregations of the South Dakota Synod will continue to benefit from his witness and leadership; therefore be it

**RESOLVED**, that the South Dakota Synod at this assembly give thanks to God for the ministry of the Rev. David Zellmer; and be it further

**RESOLVED**, that the South Dakota Synod confers upon Bishop David Zellmer the honorary title of Bishop Emeritus of the South Dakota Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

Resolution #: 6
Recommendation: No Recommendation
Action Taken:

Subject: A Proposal to Amend the SD Synod Constitution to Increase the Involvement of retired rostered ministers

**Source: Southeastern Conference** 

Whereas: There are currently 122 retired rostered ministers in the SD Synod, and;

**Whereas:** Retired rostered ministers have a wealth of experience and love of the church that would be valuable to deliberations and decisions made by the South Dakota Synod meeting in assembly, and;

**Whereas:** At present, retired rostered ministers are not afforded voice or vote at synod assembly unless they are elected as voting members by a congregation, and;

**Whereas:** Retired ministers serve this synod in part time and interim capacities and in various other ways and have a vested interest in the deliberations and decisions made at synod assembly, and;

**Whereas:** Several synods across the ELCA have adopted provisions allowing for representation by retired rostered ministers at synod assembly, and;

**Whereas:** S7.22 of the Constitution of the South Dakota Synod states, "this synod may establish processes that permit retired rostered ministers, or those designated as disabled, or on leave from call, on the roster of the synod to serve as voting members of the Synod Assembly, consistent with +7.21.c," and;

Whereas: S7.21.c currently does not exist in the Constitution of the South Dakota Synod, therefore;

**Be it Resolved:** to amend the Constitution of the South Dakota Synod by adding S7.21c:

All retired rostered leaders on the roster of this synod shall caucus prior to the first business session and elect up to 10% of their number on the roster of this synod to be voting members of the Synod Assembly; all others shall be advisory members with voice but not vote. Ministers of Word and Sacrament elected to be voting members under this section shall be counted as ministers of Word and Sacrament members of the Synod Assembly, and not as lay persons, for purposes of S7.21. All other rostered leaders elected to be voting members under this section shall be counted as lay members of the Synod Assembly.